2014 SOFI AWARDS

Just as the James Beard Awards function as the Oscars of the realm of fine dining in America, the SOFI Awards represent the best in products in the area of specialty foods and beverages, and are the highlight of the annual Fancy Food Show, taking place this year from June 29-July 1 at the Javits Center. The acronym SOFI stands for Specialty Outstanding Food Innovation, and this years finalists were culled from a record number of 2,734 entries – resulting in more than 130 finalists across the 32 awards categories. Up for the awards, with winners to be determined on June 30, are the following products in their respective categories:

 

APPETIZER, ANTIPASTO OR HORS D’OEUVRE

Spicy Maple Bourbon Pickle, Brooklyn Brine Co. [www.brooklynbrine.com]

Smokra, Rick’s Picks [www.rickspicks.com]

Fondo di Toscana Sweet Roasted Calabrian Figs,Sid Wainer & Son®[www.sidwainer.com]

 

BAKED GOOD, BAKING INGREDIENT OR CEREAL Ingredient or Cereal

Pivetti Skura Nera Black Pizza Flour?, Atlanta Corporation [www.atlantacorportation.com]

Callie’s Charleston Cheese and Chive Biscuits, ?Callie’s Charleston Biscuits [www.calliesbiscuits.com]

Jansal Valley Almond & Vanilla Sugar,Sid Wainer & Son® [www.sidwainer.com]

Fine Rye with Fruit & Nuts,Storye Bread [www.storyebread.com]

 

CHEESE OR DAIRY PRODUCT

Rachel, Artisan Biscuits [www.finecheese.co.uk]

Whole Milk Ricotta, ?Bellewether Farms [www.bellewetherfarms.com]

Blue Hill Beet Yogurt,?Blue Hill Yogurt [www.bluehillyogurt.com]

Rawstruck–Raw Milk Aged Goat Cheese, ?Coach Farm Enterprises [www.coachfarm.com]

Pena Gorda, ?European Imports, Inc. [www.eiltd.com]

Red Witch,World’s Best Cheeses [www.cheezwhse.com]

 

CHOCOLATE

Apple Ghost Chili Salt Caramels, ?Bissinger’s Handcrafted Chocolatier [www.bissingers.com]

The Lover Avant-Garde Bar, ?Chocolat Moderne [www.chocolatemoderne.com]

Smoked Chocolate Chips,Hot Cakes Molten Chocolate Cakery [www.getyourhotcakes.com]

Popcorn Toffee Squares,?Poco Dolce Confections [www.pocodolce.com]

Bottega Ditalia Amaretti Cookie Crumble Bark with Dark Chocolate,?Ritrovo Italian Regional Foods [www.ritrovo.com]

 

CLASSIC

La Salamandra Dulce de Leche, De Medici Imports, Ltd. [www.demedici.com]

Classic All Butter Puff Pastry,?Dufour Pastry Kitchens, Inc. [www.dufourpastrykitchens.com]

Gray Salt Caramel, Fran’s® Chocolates [www.franschocolates.com]

Forbidden Rice®,?Lotus Foods [www.lotusfoods.com]

Oregonzola Blue Cheese,?Rogue Creamery [www.roguecreamery.com]

 

COLD BEVERAGE

Dragon Fruit Jin + Ja,Canada Enterprises [www.drinkjinja.com]

Joia All Natural Soda – Orange, Jasmine & Nutmeg,Joia All Natural Soda [www.joialife.com]

Almond Water with Coconut Flavor,Victoria’s Kitchen [www.drinkvictoriaskitchen.com]

 

CONDIMENT

Passion Mango Chutney, Aunty Lilikoi [www.auntylilikoi.com]

Pickled Raisins, Boat Street Pickles [www.boatstreetpickles.com]

Bluegrass Soy Sauce,?Bourbon Barrel Foods [www.bourbonbarrelfoods.com]

Chipotle Mayonnaise,?Sir Kensington’s [www.sirkensingtons.com]

Triple Ale Onion Savory Spread,?Wozz! Kitchen Creations [www.wozzkitchencreations.com]

 

CONFECTION

Cocomels – Sea Salt,JJ’s Sweets® Cocomels™ [www.cococmels.com]

Hana Collection Pates de Fruits,?Maui Fruit Jewels [www.mauifruitjewels.com]

Bourbon Nib Brittle, Olive and Sinclair Chocolate Co. [www.oliveandsinclair.com]

Peanut Brittle,Zingerman’s Candy Manufactory [www.zingermanscandy.com]

 

COOKIE

Lemon Sugar Cookies,Grey Ghost Bakery [www.greyghostbakery.com]

Heritage Shortbread,Heritage Shortbread [www.heritageshortbread.com]

Coconut Macaroons,Klara’s Gourmet Cookies [www.klarasgourmet.com]

Millionaire Shortbread with Smoked Hickory Sea Salt, The Sticky Toffee Pudding Company [www.stickytoffeepuddingcompany.com]

 

COOKING SAUCE OR FLAVOR ENHANCER

Ayara Thai Peanut Sauce, ?Ayara Thai Products [www.ayaraproducts.com

Mole Poblano,Hernan [www.hernanllc.com]

Hot Smoky Barbecue Sauce,Lillie’s Q Barbeque Sauces & Rubs [www.lilliesq.com]

Miss Lily’s Jamaican Jerk BBQ Sauce,Miss Lily’s Foods [www.misslilysnyc.com/sauces

Gochujang 02 Sesame – Fermented Chile Sauce,?Mother-in-Law’s Kimchi [www.milkimchi.com]

Jansal Valley French Mustard and Herb Blend,?Sid Wainer & Son® [www.sidwainer.com

 

CRACKER

Governor’s Cheddar Crackers,Castleton Crackers [www.castletoncrackers.com]

Walnut Ryecakes,Effie’s Homemade [www.effieshomemade.com]

Raincoast Crisps – Cranberry Hazelnut,?Lesley Stowe Fine Foods Ltd. [www.lesleystowe.com]

 

DESSERT OR DESSERT TOPPING

Brown Sugar Bourbon & Pecan Ice Cream, ?Batch [www.batchicecream.com]

Three Ingredient Berry Syrup Blackberry,Blackberry Patch [www.blackberrypatch.com]

Belle Chevre Goat Cheese Cheesecake,Fromagerie Belle Chevre [www.bellechevre.com]

Blue Bottle Coffee Bar Gelato,Gelateria Naia [www.bargelato.com]

Heilala Vanilla Syrup,Heilala Vanilla Ltd. [www.heilalavanilla.com]

 

DIET AND LIFESTYLE PRODUCT

Fruit + Nut Press,?Grace & I [www.graceandi.com]

eda-zen cruncha ma-me Jalapeno, ?Greenwave Foods, Inc. [www.crunchamame.com]

Gluten-Free Lobster Mac & Cheese,Hancock Gourmet Lobster Co. [www.hancockgourmetlobster.com]

Totally Vegan Salted Caramel Sauce,Hot Cakes Molten Chocolate Cakery [www.getyourhotcakes.com]

Green Tea + C Citrus Ginger,?Sencha Naturals [www.senchanaturals.com]

RealSticks Turkey Pepperoni, Vermont Smoke and Cure [www.vtsmokeandcure.com]

 

FOOD GIFT

Set of Fruit Presses in Bamboo Box,?Grace & I [www.graceandi.com]

S’mores Kit,?Hot Cakes Molten Chocolate Cakery [www.getyourhotcakes.com]

Oregon Tradition,?Rogue Creamery [www.roguecreamery.com]

 

FROZEN SAVORY

Mushroom, Garlic, & Scallion,?Elegant Brie [www.elegantbrie.com]

Uncle Irv’s Caramelized Onion Kugel,The Kugel Company [www.lockerfamilyrecipes.com]

 

HOT BEVERAGE

CocoaMint,CocoaPlanet Inc. [www.cocoaplanet.com]

Licorice and Peppermint,teapigs [www.teapigs.com]

Sweet Memories 10 pyramid teabags,Wah Fong Tea Company LTD [www.wahfong.com]

 

INNOVATION IN PACKAGING DESIGN OR FUNCTION

Coop’s MicroCreamery: Handmade Hot Fudge,?Coop’s MicroCreamery® [www.coopsmicrocreamery.com]

Restaurant Style Tortilla Chip, Late July Organic Snacks [www.latejuly.com]

 

JAM, PRESERVE, HONEY NUT BUTTER

Oatmeal Cookie Butter,Dave’s Gourmet, Inc. [www.davesgourmet.com]

Meyer Lemon Marmalade,Gary & Kit’s Napa Valley [www.garyandkitsnapavalley.com]

Premium Srikaya / Coconut Jam, ?Hey Boo [www.heyboojams.com]

Tomato Jam,Katchkie Farm [www.katchkiefarm.com]

Lemony Flaxseed Spread with Ginger and Honey,?Laxmi’s Delights [www.laxmisdelights.com]

 

MEAT, PATE OR SEAFOOD

Bloc de Foie Gras de Canard, ?Les Trois Petits Cochons Inc. [www.3pigs.com]

Loukanika,?Olympic Provisions [www.olympicprovisions.com]

Fermin Ibérico de Bellota Smoked Panceta,?Wagshal’s Imports [www.wagshalsimports.com]

 

NEW PRODUCT

Grapefruit Lilac,?Blossom Water [www.drinkblossomwater.com]

Lentil Rice Crispbread – Sesame Pink Salt,?East Hampton Gourmet Foods [www.easthamptongourmetfood.com]

Groix & Nature Lobster Oil,Finesaler LLC [www.finesaler.com]

Coinga – 6 month Raw Milk Mahon Cheese,?Fromartharie, Inc. [www.specialitiesinc.com]

Capperi Croccanti – Crunchy Capers,Manicaretti Italian Food Imports [www.manicaretti.com]

Apricot Almond Panforte,Napa Cakes Panforte [www.napacakespanforte.com]

Norcino Salamini,?Olli Salumeria Americana [www.olli.com]

Pink & Black 32 oz.,Owl’s Brew [www.theowlsbrew.com]

Stubb’s Hatch Chile Cookin’ Sauce,?Stubb’s Legendary Kitchen [www.stubbsbbq.com]

Maple Cube – Vermont Grade B,?Tonewood [www.tonewoodmaple.com]

 

OIL

Barbera Lorenzo No. 5,Lettieri & Co. [www.lettieri.com]

Ascolano Extra Virgin Olive Oil,?Lucero Olive Oil [www.lucerooliveoil.com]

Séka Hills Premium Extra Arbequina Olive Oil,?Seka Hills [www.sekahills.com]

 

PASTA SAUCE

Tuscany Pumpkin Pasta Sauce,?Cucina Antica Foods Corp. [www.cucina-antica.com]

The Trentasette Collection Whole Yellow Datterino Tomatoes, Italian Products USA, Inc. [www.italian-products.com]

 

PASTA, RICE OR GRAIN

Beet, Butternut Squash & Goat Cheese Ravioli,?La Pasta, Inc. [www.lapastainc.com]

Brussels Sprout, Caramelized Onion & Asiago Ravioli,?Nella Pasta [www.nellapasta.com]

Spaghettoni Matt Monograno Felicetti,Pastificio Felicetti [www.felicetti.it]

 

PERISHABLE FOODSERVICE PRODUCT

Aged Grating Stick,?Coach Farm Enterprises [www.coachfarm.com]

Sauces ‘n Love Nut-Free Pesto,?Sauces ‘n Love, Inc. [www.saucesnlove.com]

Bijou Food Service,Vermont Creamery [www.vermontcreamery.com]

 

PRODUCT LINE

Bellwether Farms,Bellwether Farms [www.bellwetherfarms.com]

Jose Andres Foods,Jose Andres Foods [www.joseandresfoods.com]

Poco Dolce Confections Bittersweet Chocolate Tiles w/Sea Salt, Poco Dolce Confections [www.pocodolce.com]

Cavedoni Balsamic Vinegars,?Putney House [www.cavedonibalsamic.com]

Rishi Novel Knit Tea Bags,Rishi Tea [www.rishi-tea.com]

Tonewood,?Tonewood [www.tonewoodmaple.com]

 

SALAD DRESSING

Honey Pear Vinaigrette,Earth & Vine Provisions, Inc. [www.earthnvine.com]

Ginger Soy Infusion Dressing,?Wozz! Kitchen Creations [www.wozzkitchencreations.com]

 

SALSA OR DIP

Tzatziki,Haig’s Delicacies [www.haigsdelicacies.com]

Point Reyes Blue Cheese Dip – Original Blue Flavor,Point Reyes Farmstead Cheese Company [www.pointreyescheese.com]

wildbrine Fermented Salsa Rojo,?wildbrine [www.wildbrine.com]

 

SHELF-STABLE FOODSERVICE PRODUCT

Tonton™ Hibachi Sauce with Sake,Argo Century Inc. [www.tontonsauce.com]

Mama Lil’s Hungarian “Goathorn” Peppers in Brine,?Food Match, Inc. [www.foodmatch.com]

Hatch Chile Pesto,The Gracious Gourmet [www.thegraciousgourmet.com]

 

SNACK FOOD

Dang Toasted Coconut Chips,?Dang Foods [www.dangfoods.com]

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Macaroons, Hail Merry [www.hailmerry.com]

Primizie Simply Salted French Velvet Grey Sea Salt Crispbread, Piadina Incorporated [www.primziesnacks.com]

Pop! Gourmet Popcorn/Sriracha Popcorn, ?Pop! Gourmet Popcorn [www.popgourmetpopcorn.com]

Organic Snack Bars – Coconut,Simple Squares [www.simplesquares.com]

 

SOUP, STEW, BEAN OR CHILI

Mom’s Limited Edition Tomato Basil Soup,Fischer & Wieser Specialty Foods, Inc. [www.jelly.com]

Dinner Tonight White Bean Chili Seasoning, ?Backyard Safari Company [www.backyardsafarico.com]

 

USDA-CERTIFIED ORGANIC PRODUCT

Rigatoni Kamut Monograno Felicetti,Pastificio Felicetti [www.felicetti.it]

Ritrovo Selections Organic Balsamic,Ritrovo Italian Regional Foods [www.ritrovo.com]

Cucumber Mint, Silk Road Soda Company [www.silkroadsoda.com]

 

VINEGAR

Kaffir Lime, ?Chaparral Gardens [www.chaparralgardens.com]

Thai Basil Drinking Vinegar,?Pok Pok Som [www.pokpoksom.com]

Spiced Beet Finishing Vinegar,?Wozz! Kitchen Creations [www.wozzkitchencreations.com]